Cutty Sark Studio Theatre

March–April 2015 - bookings now open

Performances start at 7.45 p.m.

The Michael Edwards Studio Theatre is situated in the lower hold of Cutty Sark, where precious cargoes of tea and wool were stacked over a century ago. During the daytime, the hold contains displays of tea chests and other artefacts relating to the ship’s extraordinary history. In the evening, the central section can be converted into an eclectic performing arts space, unique in the world.

Theatre Menu

The Even Keel Café, situated underneath the ship’s magnificent hull, offers a two-course Theatre Menu with Prosecco before the performance, for £17.50 p.p. Limited space available, please book ahead - email or phone 0208 293 9484. (Not available for performances on 20, 23 March and 27 April)

Fri 20 March. Explore issues of modern migration and cultural identity in this new dramatic performance.
Sun 22 March. Treat yourself to an evening of past and current favourites from one of the most popular musicians on the acoustic circuit.
Mon 23 March. Experience a highly innovative new re-imagining of Shakespeare's The Tempest.
Sat 28 March. J. Bruce Ismay, managing director of the White Star Line, stepped into a lifeboat and left the sinking Titanic. Was he a...
Sun 29 March. Labour politician Alan Johnson discusses the fascinating chapter of his life he reveals in the memoir 'Please, Mister Postman...
Mon 30 March. Award-winning comedian and science enthusiast Robin Ince continues to prod into our brains with a sharpened pencil...
Fri 10 April. An evening of cracking stand-up from alternative comedian and writer Arthur Smith.
Mon 13 April. Marilyn Monroe as we’ve never seen her before: alone in her bedroom, in dressing gown and slippers.
Fri 17 April. The ‘witty, wanton, wonderful, shamelessly sexy and murderously funny’ Charlie Bicknell brings cabaret to Cutty Sark.
Sunday 19 April. Fresh and entertaining, Cope charms and amuses her audience with her wry, ironic poetry.
Mon 20 April. Best-selling author, comedian and actor Alexei Sayle gives a preview of the second volume of his hilarious and thought-...
Mon 27 April. Led by internationally-renowned recitalist Graham Devine, students present a lively showcase of guitar music.