Essential information

Date and time: 
8 June to 27 August | Various locations across the UK
Admission: 
Free

This summer the Maritime Memories Machine will be touring the UK collecting your connections to the sea. 

The memories you share will find a home in the new Sea Things gallery opening in the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich in 2018. This is a unique chance for your sea stories to be part of a national museum collection.

You can meet the Maritime Memories Machine in 16 locations across the UK. It will be popping up at libraries, parks, community centres and piers to entertain everyone with shanties, story-telling, selfies and activities all about the sea.

All activities are free and there is no need to book - just turn up. If you can’t make any of the tour dates then we’d still love to hear your sea stories. 

Find out more about the project and share your stories

Maritime Memories Machine tour schedule

Thursday 8 June

Chellaston Library, Barley Croft, Derby

Friday 9 June

Bramblebrook Community Centre, Stockbrook St, Derby

Saturday 10 June

Markeaton Park, Markeaton, Derby

Sunday 11 June

Sunnyhill Community Centre, Coleridge Street, Derby

Tuesday 13 June

Coombe Country Park, Coventry

Wednesday 14 June

Edgwick Park, 83 Eld Rd, Coventry

Thursday 15 June

Tile Hill Library, Jardine Crescent, Coventry

Friday 16 June

War Memorial Park, Coventry

Sunday 18 June

Jubilee Square-St Nicholas Place , Leicester 

Monday 19 June

Woodbridge Children's Centre, Woodbridge Road, Leicester

Wednesday 21 June

Brocks Hill Country Park and Centre, Leicester

Saturday 24 June

Museums Quarter, Hull

Monday 26 June Maritime Museum, Hull

Wednesday 28 June

International Community Centre, Abingdon Rd, Middlesbrough

Saturday 1 July Albert Park, Linthorpe Road, Middlesbrough, TS1 3LB

Sunday 2 July

Captain Cook Birthplace Museum, Stewart Park, Middlesbrough

Wednesday 5 July Blyth Market, Market Place, Blyth

Friday 7 July

Blyth Battery, Blyth

Sunday 9 July

The Potteries Museum & Art Gallery, Stoke-on-Trent

Wednesday 12 July

Devonport Guildhall, Plymouth

Thursday 13 July

Plymouth Hoe, Plymouth

Saturday 15 July Royal William Yard, Plymouth 

Sunday 16 July

Civic Piazza, Plymouth

Wednesday 19 July

The Windmill Centre, Pendennis Road, Torquay

Friday21 July Torre Abbey, Torquay

Saturday 22 July

Torre Abbey, Torquay

Tuesday 25 July Sailors' Society, Southampton
Wednesday 26 July SeaCity Museum, Southampton

Friday 28 July

Sarisbury Green Community Centre, Southampton 

Sunday 30 July National Museum of the Royal Navy, Portsmouth

Monday 31 July

Somerstown Community Centre, Portsmouth

Thursday 3 August

Fratton Community Centre, Portsmouth

Saturday 5 August

Stade Open Space, Rock-A-Nore Rd, Hastings

Sunday 6 August

Hastings Pier, Hastings

Monday 7 August

Broomgrove Community Centre, Hastings

Thursday 10 August Jaywick Martello Tower, Jaywick

Saturday 12 August

Jaywick Martello Tower, Jaywick

Monday 14 August Great Yarmouth Library
Tuesday 15 August Great Yarmouth Market Place 
Friday 18 August Hockwell Ring Community Centre
Saturday 19 August  Lewsey Library, Luton
Sunday 20 August St George's Square, Luton
Monday 21 August Chaul End Community Centre, Luton

Wednesday 23 August

Britwell Community Hub, Long Furlong Drive, Slough

Friday 25 August Cippenham Library, Slough

Saturday 26 August

Slough Town Square, Slough High Street

Sunday 27 August Manor Park Community Centre, Slough
Tuesday 5 September National Maritime Museum, Greenwich, London

#YourSeaStories