Cutty Sark’s name derives from the famous poem Tam O’Shanter by Robert Burns.
The poem is about a farmer called Tam who is chased by a scantily-clad witch called Nannie, dressed only in a ‘cutty sark’ - an archaic Scottish name for a short nightdress. Cutty Sark’s figurehead is a depiction of Nannie.
Nannie can be seen holding out a horse's tail at the centre of the ship's figureheads collection under the ship's hull. The original figurehead carved by Fredrick Hellyer lost its head and an arm in a storm in the late 19th century. It was found on board and repaired in 1970.
A replica commissioned in 1956 and made in 1957 can be seen outside on the bow of the ship.
Cutty Sark is open daily, 10am-5pm
Explore this legendary 19th-century sailing ship, the world’s sole surviving tea clipper, and fastest ship of her time.