Insight Astronomy Photographer of the Year judges

Our judging panel is made up of esteemed experts from across the fields of astronomy, photography, art and science.  

The Judges

Chris Bramley

Editor of BBC Sky at Night Magazine, which launched in 2005.

Jon Culshaw

Comedian, impersonator and regular guest on The Sky at Night.

Will Gater

Astronomer, journalist and astrophotographer.  

Pete Lawrence

World-class astrophotographer, presenter on the BBC’s The Sky at Night programme and writer for BBC Sky at Night Magazine.

Sarah Pickering

Award-winning artist and Teaching Fellow at the Slade School of Fine Art.

Ed Robinson

Award-winning photographer, creative director and visual consultant. Founder of OneRedEye Visual Communications.

Rebecca Roth

Photographer, photo editor and Image Coordinator and Social Media Specialist at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center.

Oana Sandu

Community Coordinator for the European Southern Observatory.

Melanie Vandenbrouck

Curator of Art (post-1800) at Royal Museums Greenwich.


About the Adult competition

Adult competition rules

About the Categories and Special Prizes

About the Young competition


Young competition rules

About the prizes

About our sponsors