The National Maritime Museum is one of a select group of national museums and galleries that receive direct government funding from the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS). The Management Agreement between DCMS and the National Maritime Museum sets out the broad framework with which we operate.  The current agreement 2016-2020 is here: 

For legal purposes, the National Maritime Museum entity incorporates the Royal Observatory, the Peter Harrison Planetarium, the Queen’s House and Cutty Sark. Royal Museums Greenwich is a collective brand name for the sites.